Fitzwilliam String Quartet: Schubert and Shostakovich

Thu, 16/03/2017 - 18:30 to 20:00
The Fitzwilliam String Quartet return to the College for another evening in their popular series of Cambridge concerts. Schubert: String Quartet in G minor, D173 | Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor, Op. 108 | Schubert: String Quartet in D minor, D810, ‘Death and the Maiden’

The Fitzwilliam String Quartet return to Fitzwilliam College for a series of workshops with Richard Wigmore on March 15 & 16 culminating in a concert of Schubert and Shostakovich quartets on March 16.

Tickets: £10/£5/£3 (plus booking fee) 

Now well into its fifth decade, the Fitzwilliam String Quartet is amongst the longest established string quartets in the world.  The current line-up combines founding member violist Alan George with a new generation of performers: violinists Lucy Russell and Marcus Barcham-Stevens, and cellist Sally Pendlebury. 

International recognition came early for FSQ, as the first group to record and perform all fifteen of Shostakovich's string quartets, drawing on the players' personal connection with the composer.  Today, the FSQ performs a wide and diverse range of music from the late 17th century to the present day.  It remains one of the few quartets to play on both historical and modern instrument set-ups and has brought over 50 new works to the repertoire. The FSQ has performed regularly across Britain, Europe, North America, the Far East, and Southern Africa, as well as making many award winning recordings for Decca, Linn, and Divine Art Records.

FSQ began its ongoing residency at Fitzwilliam College in 1999.      

Tickets: £10/£5/£3 (plus booking fee)   

Fitzwilliam String Quartet
For more information please contact: 
Director of Music Katharine Parton
Contact email: